The Babylonian Captivity with Map

Timeline of Events


Timeline of the Babylonian Captivity



612 Babylonians and Medes conquer Assyria

605 Babylonians battle Egyptians at Carchemish

605 Nebuchadnezzar becomes king of Babylon

605 The Babylonians invade Judah

605 First wave of deportation of Jews to Babylon

605 Daniel is taken captive and begins to prophesy

601 Babylonians battle Egypt, both sides suffer losses

601 Judah decides to realign itself with Egypt, Jeremiah warns

597 Jehoachin becomes king of Judah

597 Babylonians capture Jerusalem

597 Second wave of deportation to Babylon from Judah.

597 Ezekiel is taken captive to Babylon

597 Zedekiah becomes king of Judah

593 Ezekiel begins to prophesy

586 The Babylonians destroy Jerusalem and the Temple (9th of Av)

586 Jerusalemís walls and gates are burned with fire

586 Third wave of Jews deported to Babylon

586 Babylonian Exile (Galut Bavel) begins

586 End of Biblical (First Temple) Period

586 The end of the monarchy in Judah

539 The Fall of Babylon

539 Beginning of the Persian Period to 332

539 The Decree of Cyrus II allowing Jews to return

516 The Jews rebuild their Temple (70 years)


Map of the Deportation of Judah



The Babylonian Captivity

Bible History Online

The Story of the Bible

© Bible History Online (



Related Content